Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

18339662
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Hardcover, 227 pages

Published by Delacorte Press

Publication Date: May 13, 2014

Rating: ★★★★ 4/5 stars

Available at: Amazon/ B&NBook Depository


 

Synopsis: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.


 

WOAH. Just wow. I was not expecting that. I really liked this book.

I was hesitant to read We Were Liars because there is so many mixed reviews. I wasn’t sure how I felt about reading the book, but my friend Megan (@perfectreads on Instagram) suggested we buddy read it and I agreed.

I AM SO GLAD THAT I DID! 

We Were Liars is so beautifully written. The writing style didn’t work for a lot of people, but it did for me. I found that the writing kept me entertained, and added to the emotional toll. Although I enjoyed the writing, I admit, it was a little hard to understand sometimes. There are times that I didn’t understand what was going on because the author leaves a lot hanging in the air. I found myself rereading some lines and/or paragraphs multiple times when things weren’t registering in my head. There were also lines that I had to reread because I had no idea if it was literal or a metaphor.

Another thing, the book is definitely emotionally draining in some parts, but that’s because our M.C., Cadence, deals with some tough shit throughout the novel. She has a pretentious family, and she was raised to have the same values as her family, so I tried my best not to judge. However, I did like Lockhart’s subtle touch on racism and the upper class. I felt like it was accurate and realistic for people with that lifestyle (from personal experience).

This book is definitely not for everyone, but I really enjoyed it. It definitely was not what I was expecting. It’s a mysterious, suspenseful, emotional roller coaster and I recommend you give it a shot. Keep in mind, it’s best to go into the book blind.

 

Until next time,

carina font readaninabook

6 thoughts on “Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. I think the fact the writing was hard to understand was fine at points, especially the references to Cadence’s pain, because she’s struggling to understand it herself. But the same writing techniques were used too often and it made it hard to stay gripped to the story. In general I agree with most of what you’ve said though. I’m glad I read it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

