Book Review: Supremacy by Christin Lee

30074525
Supremacy by Christin Lee
Kindle Edition, 330 pages
Publication Date: June 3, 2016
Rating: ★ 1/5 stars (DNF)
Available at: Amazon


Synopsis: Kate Parker, is a 17 year old senior living in Texas. She’s on the swim team, has two incredible best friends, and a passion for saving animals. She falls hard when she meets a mysterious and fascinating guy named Lucas. He has a sexy accent and a killer smile. However, she sees unexplained pain and anger in his dark brown eyes. He claims he’s a foreign exchange student from Spain who is attending the local University—Kate knows there’s more to his story than that. She works hard to discover who he is—what he is.


E-book kindly provided by author in exchange for an honest review.

Disclaimer: this review contains mild spoilers~ ie; quotes, scene/character discussions

Supremacy is Christin Lee’s debut novel.

Let me start this off by saying I DNF’ed the book. I just couldn’t bring myself to continue reading it. I’ve been picking it up, and putting it back down for roughly a month. I had heaps of issues with the book. Now let me make this clear, I stopped reading on page 202 of 330 because I just could not do it anymore.

Our protagonist Kate is a while girl living in a white world, her family is the typical all-American family. I only recall one mention of another race and that’s because Lucas is Spaniard. I just felt like the book tries to hard to be multicultural, but in reality there’s just some random Spanish words being thrown around (I’ll get back to this). Also, the “mystery” around Lucas isn’t all that suspenseful.

Not even 100 pages in, and I already wanted to skim through the novel until I hit the “urban fantasy” portions of the book because the book dragged on. Too much of the book focused on building the “chemistry” between Kate and Lucas, but it didn’t make me as giddy as I hoped. It was too “insta-love” for me. There’s a scene in a gm where Kate and Lucas have a conversation and they say that “every time” they’re together they’re rushed. UM HELLO, they’ve only been together twice in the book, and the only times they’ve been together were unexpectedly running into each other.

Following the scene in the gym, Stephen, one of Kate’s “incredible best friends” was rude to Lucas because he was jealous of the time Lucas and Kate spent together. Kate confronts him about it saying, “Stephen, you were rude… You were so rude I think I’m going to tell your mom. She would beat you if she knew how you treated Lucas.”

UM, WHAT? “beat you” pretty sure that’s child abuse. It’s not something to talk about so casually and nonchalant, or jokingly for that matter. I was absolutely appalled.

Another thing I disliked about the book, it is extremely sexist. In the beginning of the book, after Kate’s first encounter with Lucas, she talks to her dad and the discussion leads to dating. The dad reminds her of the rules of house against dating and she brings up that her brothers don’t live by this rule and he says, “Don’t compare yourself to your brothers. Boys are different.” hmm… I’ll just leave that there.

Now, there’s another scenario where there is a family barbecue. Kate is wearing shorts, a button up shirt and makeup, let me say the most minimal makeup EVER, and her brothers and Stephen gang up on her saying, “what’s that smell?”(regarding her perfume), “is that glitter on your lips” “what’s on your eyes?” “who are you trying to impress?”. Now after that I was already rubbed the wrong way. Apparently that wasn’t enough, Stephen then says, “personally, I think her shorts are a little too short.” Adding on to that, here’s an actual scene from the book:

“‘I think her earrings are too big.’ Alex said wanting to get in on the fun. ‘It’s just a Saturday [barbecue](spelled “barbeque” in book), not prim. Her shirt is cut low too.'”

Do I need to even explain why this bothered me? I just did not like this book at all, and I just couldn’t bring myself to continue reading. Once again, I’d like to state in no way, shape, or form am I trying to bash the author or her writing, I’m just stating my HONEST opinion. I appreciate the opportunity of reading the book, but unfortunately I didn’t enjoy the book as much as I thought I would. Also please keep in mind that just because the book didn’t work out for me, doesn’t mean it won’t work out for you!

Have any of you read Supremacy? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

 

Until next time,

carina font readaninabook

 

Leave a Reply

